Archive for December 29th, 2011

Café time

December 29, 2011

I was going to write today; long blog posts reflecting on year’s end. My ILs and husband took the kids out for the day and I’ve been given the gift of a day at home alone – an introvert’s dream. I was forbidden to clean or cook anything so I did a little dress shopping and then came to my favorite cafe to chill for a bit. Next I’m going to go home, wash off the second-hand smoke smell, and then relax with a movie – probably Love Actually (despite its many flaws, my go-to holiday movie) – and some knitting until they get back. I gave Gimli permission to disregard nap schedules but I did pack a nice little snack box for them with dried cranberries and apricots, cashews, bananas, tangerines, and fig cookies in case all they get for lunch is pizza.

So I was going to use some of this time to write but I’m in such a blissed-out zone right now that all I can really come up with is this little meditation on my day.

Red Hot Chili Peppers and Roxette. I love this cafe.