Transitions

I missed a period.

I turned 50 in March.

Counted the weeks, the days – my last cycle started viciously, with a flood of blood so painful and strong that I leaked through a supersize tampon and overnight maxi pad while deplaning in Cusco on the way to see my parents. A week later, my husband arrived and we didn’t have any condoms, so.

As tiny as the likelihood, I had to pee on a stick – for old time’s sake – only this time, this time I did NOT want to see the double line. Never have I been so happy to get a negative.

July was my first blood-free month since I was last pregnant 13 years ago. It’s been 50 days now, and counting.

One Response to “Transitions”

  1. Mali Says:

    I can relate to this post. (Thanks to Mel at Stirrup Queens pointing me to it). Both to the floods in perimenopause (friends told me it would abate, as it does with most women, but it didn’t with me and required surgery), and to the taking of a pregnancy test when I did not want a positive. How weird it feels, after so long of needing a positive. But it is also quite liberating in some ways. Fingers crossed the absence of AF continues. There is also freedom in her departure.

Leave a comment