Resolute

“I may not be as strong as I think, but I know many tricks and I have resolution.” ~ The Old Man and the Sea, Ernest Hemingway

This past fall, in my English 10 class we read The Old Man And the Sea. It was better than I remembered, having read it some 30 years ago in high school myself. The lesson plans I followed the old man’s quality of endurance and resolution.

My husband read something about resolutions that stick – apparently people are more likely to keep resolutions of two kinds: resolutions to do something you enjoy anyway, and resolutions that reflect personal aspirations – “I want to be the kind of person who [fill in the blank].”

If I think about it that way, I can find a focus for my resolve. I want to write more this year, and I want to be the kind of person who practices yoga every day.

I found a bedtime routine that I like and it’s become something I look forward to.

Leave a comment