Baby Terror

So our pair of hamsters had babies… three of them. It was not a huge shock but still a bit of a surprise… almost immediately I became overwhelmed with fear and anxiety about these little things, these tiny translucent pink creatures with shadowy shut eyes.

My husband tells me that even if they die, even if their mother eats them, it doesn’t mean I am a bad mother. but it’s so hard for me to separate. As I shut down my computer at work, before I open my eyes in the morning, I wonder are they still alive?

I feed the hamsters bits of boiled egg, slivers of cheese, cups of sunflower seeds. I hover anxiously. Gimli says it’s bringing back memories of when our own kids were babies, the constant obsessive anxious attention.

We haven’t named them yet.

3 Responses to “Baby Terror”

  1. Mel Says:

    Congratulations! How are they? Sending good thoughts.

  2. Elsie S Says:

    Congrats.

    I relate well to that anxiety!

  3. Tara Says:

    Sounds like secondary trauma and makes complete sense to me. How are you doing now that they are gone? I hope you’re not feeling guilty about it. It’s so hard not to anthropomorphize our pets (or any other animal)

Leave a Reply

