Microblog Monday: Telling

Saturday I was at a workshop with a lot of church people, some of whom were meeting each other for the first time. During a small group exercise, one pastor’s wife mentioned to another pastor’s wife that she had endured infertility for seven years before becoming pregnant with her now-2.5-year-old son. The second pastor’s wife rang my infertility alarms, as she’s been married seven years and they have no children. This is extremely unusual in this social context, especially within the church. What struck me was how openly and easily the first woman talked about her struggle, how much she cried every time one of her sisters or cousins got pregnant, how painful it was to see a pregnant belly.

It has begun to get easier for me to talk about our experiences with IF, but I still marvel at and admire women who can be so open about it.

Not sure what #MicroblogMondays is?Read the inaugural post which explains the idea and how you can participate too.

5 Responses to “Microblog Monday: Telling”

  1. Deborah Says:

    Good for her for being so open! It is much easier to talk about IF once you have kids, I’ve found. And then you wonder why you didn’t do it earlier, looking at all the support you could’ve gotten.
    (here from the Microblog Mondays list)

  2. Isabelle Says:

    I find that it’s a lot easier to talk about it now than two years ago when we had tried for a year. Nowadays I talk to a lot of people about it and ask for prayers from those I know would pray for us. I still don’t talk to my work people about it. I think it’d be so liberating one day if I could do that.

  3. Mel Says:

    I think it’s such a crapshoot tied to personality. I found it easy to talk about before and after kids. I know a few who could talk about it before but NOT after. And a few who could talk about it after but not before. And because it’s tied to personality, I also don’t think that a person can push themselves to be someone they’re not. That’s what I like about people; we’re all different.

  4. Amanda Says:

    I too tend to pick up on conversations like that. It had to be nice hearing it at a church event. You’re right, not everyone, especially in a church setting brings things up like that.

  5. Elsie S Says:

    I have an ear for those kind of things. And I am glad the lady was so open about it, it reduces the taboo on it.

Leave a Reply

