Butterflied

A friend of mine in college had four cats named Neurosis, Psychosis, Obsession, and Compulsion. It was always an adventure visiting that house.

Anyway, I seem to have hit a magical tipping point in the long march to dissertation defense where physical anxiety symptoms are kicking in. 54 more days. My committee has generously agreed to allow me to turn in my final defense-ready draft just four weeks prior to defense instead of six, but I’d still like to have a draft I’m happy with six weeks prior. So, October 30.

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!

Today I’m cleaning up the last major section that needed heavy re-writing. I’ve realized that the hardest part of this enterprise hasn’t actually been the writing at all, but the THINKING. Except that in order to do the thinking, I have to do the writing first. It’s an iterative write-think-write cycle. Why didn’t anyone tell me this before?!??

Oh, and the other hardest part is getting feedback from my committee. It was SO worth it to go to campus and meet up face to face. Cause I’m not actually sure I’m going to get any in far enough advance to incorporate suggestions anyway. Oh well.

If I ever get a tattoo I think it will be the letters PhD on my shoulder blade.

3 Responses to “Butterflied”

  1. Mel Says:

    Good luck good luck good luck. Sending good writing vibes.

  2. jjiraffe Says:

    Wow!!! Good for you! I know what you mean (sort of) about the thinking. I’m doing a ton of corporate writing, and it’s the thinking – what needs to be communicated and how – that takes the most energy and time.

    Good luck!!

  3. Rachel Says:

    You are reaching the home stretch! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

