Microblog Monday: Mama PhD [Candidate] Edition

She finished her PhD when her children were very small; I don’t remember exactly how young, but when I was expecting Oz I e-mailed her to ask her how she did it. One thing she said was (and I paraphrase): “I decided to do it while they were young, because they wouldn’t remember not having me around.” And I just couldn’t get on board with that. I don’t believe that what you don’t remember doesn’t affect you.

I applied to grad schools while we were TTC, and decided to postpone neither. It has been way, way harder than I ever imagined it would be. Whenever I see a mother announcing on FB that she’s going back to grad school, I cringe, I want to say “don’t do it!” And then when I see a mother of two getting her doctorate in three years I want to disappear.

I have to stay on track. I am on track, right now. It’s do or die time.

I never want to have to explain to my daughter why I never finished my doctorate. Not when I’m this close.

Not sure what #MicroblogMondays is?Read the inaugural post which explains the idea and how you can participate too.

9 Responses to “Microblog Monday: Mama PhD [Candidate] Edition”

  1. Mel Says:

    Cheering you on from the sidelines.

    I was always in awe of the woman in my program who had a daughter. Sometimes she would bring the 5-year-old to class with her. The little girl would sit in the room, drawing, while the rest of us took notes.

  2. nabanita21 Says:

    It’s hard the choices we women have to make..But don’t worry it will all work out and pls don’t give up on anything you want!

    Random Thoughts Naba…#MicroblogMondays: I Wish To Read It Again……

  3. CJ Says:

    I completely agree with you. I applaud you in your pursuits now. I don’t know how you have the energy!

  4. Tara Says:

    You can totally do it. It doesn’t matter what it looks like to anyone else- just to you. You made the best decisions you could have. The ones that match you. Hugs sweetie

  5. noemi Says:

    I don’t know how you are doing it. Seriously. I finished the last six months of my grad program after my daughter was born and it was brutal. Truly. The whole program was brutal and I question whether it was one of the biggest, most expensive, mistakes of my life. Only time will tell.

    You will finish this. I know you will. You can do it.

  6. Mali Says:

    I agree with Nabanita. It seems unfair that women have to grapple with these decisions. But good for you! Congrats for being on track. That’s never easy, whatever we’re dealing with.

Leave a Reply

