Not sure what I want to write about, I just need to write

I’m feeling a little emotionally beat up, nothing big, just an admin team meeting followed up by a side meeting about a recurring staff issue that’s my responsibility but I wish it wasn’t. I guess I just feel like the past 2 hours were spent dwelling on a lot of negative things. 

I got an ominous e-mail from the graduate school this morning, approving my leave of absence for this coming academic year (with stern warnings about keeping my status up to date and finishing soon), and then another e-mail asking for a petition to extend time to degree, which I had already submitted last week. So I re-sent it. I’ve been working harder than ever on the dissertation, and there is still so very, very far to go. But I should be able to send something to my full committee by the end of this week.

Gimli is going on another trip this coming week, but that’s ok. I still feel like I “owe” him for all the time I was working overtime or traveling in May. 

My kids are on their 2-week midyear break, and Illyria is acting up a lot – I think she’s feeling the lack of routine and stimulation from school. I printed out about 40 kindergarden worksheets for her in English and Spanish and she did half of them in one sitting. She was sick this weekend, too – throwing up and sleeping a lot. Last night – or early this morning, actually, I guess – Oz had a nosebleed in bed, getting blood all over his face, shirt, sheets, pillow, and hair. Poor kid. His birthday is in 2 weeks and I haven’t planned anything… I think we’ll probably just have a family party.

Right now Colombia is playing Japan in their third World Cup game, I think they’re already in for the second round, unless they get trounced in this game. I’m not watching because I need the writing time. 

So I have about 2 hours left this afternoon, in which to make progress. Here I go.

3 Responses to “Not sure what I want to write about, I just need to write”

  1. Esperanza Says:

    Sorry I haven’t been commenting on your posts recently. I always save them to comment on until later and then I never do. My commenting mojo is off right now. I need to power through!

    I totally know what you mean about “owing” Gimli for time you “took.” I always wonder if men do that, tally the time, intending to keep it fair. I don’t think MV does because because he never seems to make it fair for me. 😉 or maybe he does. Who knows. Men are so hard to understand.

    I hope the dissertation goes well. Sending productive thoughts! Good luck!!! And ¡Vaya Columbia!

  2. Rachel Says:

    Poor Oz. I can identify with my kids acting out when their routine is off. Do you have Dollar stores or access to Amazon down there? Those cheap kindergarten books keep my kids occupied. The Kumon maze books are more expensive but my kids love them, I have them use it with a page protector and a dry erase marker so they can reuse it.

    I hope you get that writing done!

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    Rachel, what a great idea!
    Esperanza, I am the worst commenter this year. Don’t feel bad at all! I feel like I keep a tally of parenting time more than Gimli does, but this past May he really did resent the amount of time I was away so that contributes to my feeling like I’m in the red.

Leave a Reply

