Dusting off my writing desk

I’m back at my writing desk for the first time in about 6 weeks… with a commitment from Gimli to take on a larger part of our shared responsibilities so that I might have a hope of finishing my dissertation this year. 

Literally dusting off my desk. 

I’ve been a crap commenter lately, honestly blogging was one of the first things to fall off the map for me when things got busy – but it’s been part of my writing process for the past few years, so I think I’ll pick up a bit here in the next few months.

I want to set some goals: 

  • 20 hours of work put in by the end of this month
  • Something good sent off to my committee by the end of this month
  • By the end of July, another section ready for committee review
  • Full draft ready for review by early October

That’s kind of a general sketch… I’ll be setting daily goals too. I HAVE to get this thing done this year. I truly feel that it’s now or never. There will be a cost, and I’ll just have to take it.

3 Responses to “Dusting off my writing desk”

  1. Wordgirl Says:

    I so totally hear you on this. I have hit a crossroads myself. For me it’s the years away from the life of writing– the practice, the community, the vision of myself as a person engaged in a certain kind of life.

    I, naïvely maybe, still believe that life is leading us on the path we are supposed to be on even if it’s not the one that we imagined.

    I will be thinking of you as you enter this time of introspection and productivity. I was happy to hear that Illyria’s been so thrilled by her school experience. That right there must just be such a joy. I think of you often and still marvel at the good work you’re doing and the wonderful experiences you are providing for your children. I hope you go easy on yourself as much as you can,
    Xo
    Pam

  2. Mel Says:

    I sometimes need to hold myself to a writing log in order to get stuff done. I don’t set a page minimum or anything like that, but nothing guilts you into writing like seeing that post-it note recording zeroes. I make myself write the date and write how much I wrote so I can look back and see that I’m actually making progress vs. messing around online.

  3. Rachel Says:

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

