Project Dreamcatcher

So I’ve signed on with Project Dreamcatcher, spearheaded by Jjiraffe at Too Many Fish To Fry. My goal is to make significant progress on my dissertation.

Now I’m not exactly sure how that is going to happen, but having a plan should make a difference, and this is something I really, really want to make happen despite the obstacles I see. 

Right now, this week, I was able to take 4 days off work in order to dedicate my days to dissertation writing. I had a long-overdue talk with my husband about how I need more support from him (on the home and work fronts) in order to get this thing done. And I watched the first TED talk that Jjiraffe assigned us for this project. 

So what can I do in the next 30 days to move towards my goal?

There are a few major events coming up that I will have to figure out how to work around. 1) our Board of Directors is coming for a 9-day “learning tour.” I have no idea how I will find writing time during those 2 weeks, especially since I will be traveling with them for 3 of the 9 days.

2) our team retreat is at the end of June, so that is 4 more days out of commission (plus time I need to put into planning parts of it that I’m responsible for).

So 7 days are definitively out, and I’m worried about how much work I will have going on during the other 23 days, and whether I’ll be able to take time away on weekends.

I have seen various people write dissertations while working and parenting, and I know it takes tremendous focus, discipline, and effort. It also takes a supportive spouse. I feel like I have more support now from my husband than I did before, but I’m also worried about how I will balance time with the kids with the time demanded for writing. 

I have a book titled “Write your dissertation in 15 minutes a day” that I’ve dipped into from time to time. I’m sort of wondering if I could block out an hour a day at work, even, maybe lunch hour, for writing. If I have a daily discipline it might not take as long to get into the headspace to begin with. 

So I’m still mulling over how this is going to work out… but it feels good to put it out there.

p.s. I’m probably going to delete the previous 3 posts on Sunday night, just fyi.

3 Responses to “Project Dreamcatcher”

  1. jjiraffe Says:

    I like the idea of working on the dissertation every day, even if some days it’s only a few minutes. That will produce a habit of working on the dissertation daily which could be the motivation you need?

  2. The Big Reveal | Too Many Fish to Fry Says:

    […] Establish a Daily Writing Habit 4. Little Chicken Nugget: Take Care of Myself 5. Project Progeny: Make Significant Progress On My Dissertation 6. Stumbling Gracefully: Plant a Garden 7. Too Many Fish To Fry: Finish and Publish My Book 8. Ms. […]

  3. anexpatinuk Says:

    Hi there, this sounds like a challenge, a good one though. Since it is important to you to finish, I do believe you can do it. For me scheduling writing time, even if it’s only 15-30 min per day, is key. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

