Art Hunger

Even in the throes of transition, ordinary life asserts its own demands and I found myself wiping off the remains of a finger-painting extravaganza off the coffee table in our living room tonight, and I started singing one of my favorite Dar Williams songs – “Iowa” – and my daughter shrieked from the next room “Mama don’t SING!” (She always hates it when I sing, unless it’s one of her bedtime songs).

I realized not too long ago that I have this hunger in my life for Art. I realized tonight how much I miss listening to my music. My music. The music that feeds my soul-hunger. Not the theme music from kids’ shows on YouTube, not pop music on the radio, the random snatches of song drifting from a passing car or open window. My husband hates background music unless it’s soft jazz, which has never been my thing – not broody enough, perhaps? And now my daughter resists all attempts I make to foist music on her. I can’t listen to music while I work, so there’s a gaping hole where it used to be in my life.

And I miss the Art of Story. Any chance I get – and it’s so very, very rare these days – to see a movie, I just soak it in, the escape into a visual and emotional story arc that takes me out of myself and then puts me back in again. I read when and what fiction I can, but that too is so very constrained by the demands of parenting and work. The past couple months I’ve taken I think two days off just to soak in Story – a movie one day, and a Mary Stewart suspense/romance the other. (I won’t even tell you what movie it was, I’m too embarrassed. Ok. It was Bridesmaids. Yup, high Art. Whatever.)

I’m not sure what to do about it – it’s just something I’ve noticed recently. Sure there’s plenty of Art – some of it gorgeous, when you look at it – in children’s books, but I guess I’m saturated with that genre. And some of your blog posts are definitely Art. But I guess I need to find a way to bring more Art into my life somehow.

4 Responses to “Art Hunger”

  1. Mud Hut Mama Says:

    I hear you on this! I can’t remember the last time I saw a movie or listened to my music. I laughed at your daughter shouting don’t sing from the other room because that has also happened to me on a number of occasions. Little dictators – gotta love em.

  2. sharah Says:

    As iclw wraps up, I just wanted to thank you for being part of my tribe. I love reading your posts and getting feedback on my own. I value your voice and your presence in my community.

  3. jjiraffe Says:

    I feel you on this. I tend to be all high arty and extreme (Radiohead this, Deerhunter that) when it comes to music, but this summer I have gravitated to pop for some reason. My daughter loves that Carly Rae song and so I lip-synced to it in a video for BlogHer. My music snob brother will be appalled.

Leave a Reply

