Miscellaneous

Saturday is Oz’s second birthday, and Saturday Gimli leaves for yet another trip without us. He’s going to a politically volatile region, so while I’m sure he’ll be fine, part of me is on yellow alert. He’ll be gone two weeks. And I’m sad that he’s leaving on Oz’s birthday. While it’s not actually the case, it just feels like work is coming first before family again. He didn’t notice the date when he was making his plans.

Our sleep is all messed up still from the trip, although Oz had the best night of his life – quite literally – last night; he slept from about 8:30 to 6:30 and only woke up twice! And both times went right back to sleep! Illyria, on the other hand, fell asleep around 11 and woke up at 4 a.m. That’s right: 4 a.m. At 6:30 I found her sitting on the couch in the living room so I gave the kids breakfast and then took them out for a walk in the stroller since it was still not too hot out. I was going to keep her awake this afternoon instead of letting her take a nap, but really that wasn’t an option after her only sleeping 5 hours.

I’m kind of at a loss here. I thought by the weekend she’d be on a regular sleep rhythm again. I feel like I need to really work on her this week – minimize the screen time (40 minutes max), maximize exercise, try to get her to eat more nutritious foods. That last one is getting harder and harder. But I know we could do better. It’s been so hot out, it’s hard to get out in the middle of the day, but Dhurata is going to take the kids to the public pool tomorrow so hopefully they will enjoy that. They’ve been playing in the wading pool here but it’s good for them to get out and about.

I’m also going to try harder to get her to drink the magnesium supplement we got in the US; a friend recommended it, said it worked really well with her daughter. It’s just that even if I mix it with juice, and put in lots of ice, if Illyria can taste it at all she won’t drink it. I also got some melatonin that I gave them (very small amounts) for the first few days for jet lag; it worked amazingly well with Oz. With Illyria, it seemed to help her fall asleep initially but then she’d wake up after awhile and be awake for 4-5 hours. So I don’t know whether to do try it again or not. But SOMETHING has got to change here. We can’t go on like this.

So my SIL is getting licensed as a Life Coach and I agreed to be a client. Although I think Gimli needs it more. I had a “sample session” over Skype while we were in the US, which was made kind of difficult by Oz coming in mid-way and wanting to nurse, and trying to push the keys on the laptop, etc. Hopefully the next session will not have as many distractions.

4 Responses to “Miscellaneous”

  1. Heather Says:

    Thanks for the comment and support on my blog hope u come right with the sleeping. 🙂

  2. jjiraffe Says:

    I would love to see a life coach: what a wonderful opportunity for you! I hope it goes well and insight is gained.

  3. Marie Polack Says:

    Magnesium is essential for bone formation and the absorption of calcium in the body. i take 500 mg magnesium supplements daily. ,

    Have a look at all of the most recently released post at our own web site
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/bed-bug-bites/

Leave a Reply

