Thinking

I’m thinking about taking a 40-day fast from social media, but I’m still thinking how exactly I want to do it. I’m thinking that May is going to be a hard-core dissertation-focused month, and I’m going to completely cut out celebrity gossip and other time-wasting internet activity (I’m looking at you, Facebook). I’m not exactly sure what to do about blogging. This is a very helpful space for me here, for processing my thoughts – and I have a lot of them right now – but I really, really need to be focused at the moment. And I don’t want to abandon all my bleeps, especially those in the proverbial trenches right now, but also all of you who are just… living life, and all that goes with that.

I’m feeling a bit like Bilbo Baggins at his one-hundred-eleventieth birthday, about to vanish in a little thunderclap to the consternation of all his friends and relations, off on another adventure. Feels a little rude.

I will keep you posted.

10 Responses to “Thinking”

  1. Esperanza Says:

    It’s not rude. You gotta do what you gotta do. That is life, blogging world or no. Sometimes breaks can do you a world of good and you come back with tons of energy and enthusiasm. Sometimes breaks are just want you need. Sometimes you start a break and realize you want to come back sooner. The great thing is you can do whatever you want, no matter what you tell us. If you need space we can provide space and if you need support, well we’re pretty good at that too.

    Good luck!

  2. Rachel Says:

    At times I have had to take breaks, I’ve never gone as long as 40 days, but breaks are good. Because of a group I participate in I can’t completely cut out the internet, but I have limited the time to 10 minutes a day, using a timer to keep myself accountable. It’s hard, but I accomplish much more in my real life and find I don’t miss most of what I waste my time on online.

    If you do take a break, we’ll be here when you get back.

  3. St. Elsewhere Says:

    Hey Hey, well you got to do what you got to do. If social media is killing your productive time, you just break off from it.

    And remember, you are NOT quitting the internet, just taking a hiatus. Well, we are all here, ready when you are ready. I want you to focus on that dissertation of yours. You have to do it.

    I had to delete my virtual farm on Farmville to get cracking finally on my thesis. I always had it in-control, but after Lola’s death, sitting on the PC always led me to Farmville. I had to kill the farm to get my work done.

    Do it!

  4. Heather Says:

    I also dissappear when I need to, sometimes work just takes over and I catch up when I can. So do what you need to do…
    Thanks for the comment on my blog – very encouraging.. 🙂

  5. jjiraffe Says:

    I totally get this. I would miss you a lot, but would also understand. Also, love the Bilbo Baggins reference 🙂

Leave a Reply

