Here

My mom is here!

My mom is here. Right now she’s playing puzzles with Oz and Illyria while I play hooky from my Albanian lesson. This morning Illyria saw her, paused, and then broke into a shy smile of recognition as she climbed into my lap. Oz was very suspicious, until my mom began to play a game of peek-a-boo and then did a little dance step – he was charmed.

I’m bottomed out in my sleep reserves; her flight came in around midnight and I went to the airport to pick her up. It was strange to be out so late at night by myself. Then of course Oz greeted the dawn at 5:30 a.m. even though he didn’t fall asleep last night until after 10. Very unusual for him – I think both kids sensed something was afoot because neither of them went down easy. So I only got about 3 hours of sleep and am just counting down until nap time.

Over the past few weeks, I didn’t let myself believe she was coming. I never said “my mom is coming,” I only said “my mom is planning to come… is supposed to be coming…” It wasn’t up until the very last minute that I even began to behave as if she was coming – making up her bed, finding clean towels to lay out, buying extra house slippers. It was like how you hold off on buying baby thing until the 9th month (or even later).

It’s so good to have her here.

6 Responses to “Here”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Enjoy your visit! I know you have missed her terribly. How wonderful to have family willing and able to visit you half way around the world.

  2. slowmamma Says:

    Wonderful! I know this visit was a long time in the making. I hope she is staying a while.

  3. Wordgirl Says:

    Hooray!

    I hope you have a wonderful visit. Hopefully you’ll be able to catch up on some much needed sleep! I often miss living away be aise there is something transformative about showing someone your place… It always seemed to give me a different perspective. Can’t wait to hear about it

    P

  4. Kathy Says:

    Yay! I appreciate the way you managed your expectations before her arrival and glad to hear that she got there safely. Enjoyed your visit and time together!

  5. Claire Says:

    Ooh sounds like its going to be a great visit! Enjoy showing your mom around and I hope you can catch up on your sleep!

Leave a Reply

