Fresh Start?

So this blog has been kind of dead in the water recently… well, for quite some time now. Drifting a little, perhaps. I’ve been posting on average once a month? I think? And I want to write more. I often find myself ruminating over something or other I’d like to write about and share online but I never get around to it.

Of course there’s the requisite parenting-after-infertility angst; this blog began, true to the IF-blog genre, as a way to chart cycles and find sympathetic ears for IF-related emotions that are poorly understood or not socially acceptable in the larger, fertile world. I don’t need this space for either of those functions anymore (maybe a little bit for the second one, from time to time) although the safe-space-for-venting function does extend to complaining about my in-laws or other tricky family issues.

But I’d like to do more with this space. I like what Mel posted recently comparing writing to running – you have to do it regularly to stay in shape. I’m trying to write a dissertation, and I think I view blog-writing as a distraction or time stolen from the dissertation for self-indulgence, but perhaps if I view it as exercise it will actually help me write the dissertation in the long run. Or if nothing else it’s cheap therapy, right? And that’s another function of the IF blog that does not become – what’s the word? Irrelevant? Outdated? Obsolete.

So here begins a resolution to post about three times a week. Oscar’s first birthday is coming up, so 7/7 will be my official “starting line” date for this new commitment to writing. I just joined the “Prompt-ly” list-serve so I’m also hoping that will be a kick-start for more frequent writing.

One Response to “Fresh Start?”

  1. Kristin Call Says:

    Hello! I know you don’t know me, but we’ve got something in common. I got your blog address off the Stirrup Queen’s blogroll and was wondering if you wouldn’t mind helping me help a couple who is trying to add a little one to their family. We’re holding a silent auction for them this weekend (Friday and Saturday) on goteamwitt.blogspot.com and need help getting the word out! We would love it if you would spread the word via social media or here on your blog. Additionally, we are always looking for more donations to auction off, so if you or someone you know might be interested in making a donation, all the information is under the donate tab. If you have any questions or would be willing to post a pre-written blog post about the auction and the sponsored couple, please contact Kristin at goteamwitt@gmail.com Thanks in advance for taking the time to consider this!

Leave a Reply

