Contingency plans

The thing with pre-eclampsia, it seems, is that it is apparently so damn unpredictable.  The doctor said “I can’t tell you what will happen next,” but he was able to outline a series of scenarios that could all be equally likely.  There’s the chance that I could develop a severe headache, blurred vision, and a pain below the sternum that would send me straight to the ER, magnesium sulfate, and immediate c-section delivery of the baby, tomorrow.  At 31 weeks.

Or, my symptoms might remain stable – or even improve somewhat – over the course of the next 7 weeks or so and I’d go into active labor and have the baby vaginally.

Or, something in between.  Which would be that my condition would stay more or less as it is now (blood pressure elevated but not unduly alarming, some protein in the urine, minimal swelling) for a few weeks, then take a turn for the worse, and they’d deliver the baby by c-section.

It’s hard impossible to know.

This morning we went in for a biophysical profile and non-stress test; both of these showed the baby doing really well.  All the measurements are on track and they estimate his weight at about 4 lbs.  My blood pressure (I’m on labeta.lol now) was 114/88.  I’m to do another 24-hour urine test, and this time I plan to drink a LOT more water than last time.  My proteinuria, for those who want to know, was 1500 of whatever units/volume they measure.  Anything over 300 is cause for alarm.

Tomorrow afternoon I have an appointment at the fancy hospital about an hour away where I would deliver the baby should my condition get worse before 36 weeks.  They have a NICU there.  I guess I’m going to meet the perinatologist and find out if I need to get a dose of whatever that medication is that strengthens the baby’s lungs in preparation for premature birth.  Should be interesting.

So I’m discouraged.  But hopeful.  I so wished that this pregnancy would be uncomplicated.  I guess that’s not what my body does.  I feel old.

4 Responses to “Contingency plans”

  1. tara Says:

    o holy cow. let me know if you want to run out to lunch sometime this week & pet the pretty fibers at the yarn store or anything else you might need.

  2. LuckyOnce Says:

    I came across your blog on LFCA, and can identify with you. I’m 31 weeks this week, and being closely watched for PIH. (Thankfully I haven’t had any high readings yet with this pregnancy.) I have a toddler as well, and had PIH with him starting at about 36 weeks and continuing (and getting higher) after delivery.
    I’ll be following your story and hoping that your PIH halts in its tracks and doesn’t cause you more problems or cause you to have to deliver early.

  3. Kat Says:

    I’m another new follower. I had preeclampsia with my toddler and am now 21 weeks along with my second. I’m also being watched and hoping not to be on bedrest this time!

    Were you on bp meds the first time?

  4. niobe Says:

    Hoping that it all works out. And I’m thrilled to hear that the baby is doing so well.

Leave a Reply

