The whole story

So, here’s the whole story, fresh for 2010.

If you’ve been following along, you saw that I was trying to decide to POAS (pee on a stick) or not to POAS? Even assuming a really late ovulation, I was on Dec. 17 by my reckoning at least 2 days late.

So I did it.  And got the BFP.  So I POAS again.  Five days in a row, five unmistakably double lines.

I wrote that I was still doing the TP tango – because I was.  I was checking for blood.  I couldn’t believe it might be for real.  I made an appointment with the OB for Dec. 29 when I thought I’d be about 7 weeks along.  I prayed into the darkness, “please be alive, little tadpole, please…” I steeled myself for an empty sac, for a silent heart.

So imagine my shock when I lay back in that darkened room, dildocam nestled all snug in its bed, and gazed up at the screen, only to see – not the little bean-shaped blob I expected, but a honest-to-goodness baby – a real, live fetus, with a heart beating 167x/minute.  The technician said dryly, “That look s more like 11 weeks,” and went to get the doctor.

But I distinctly remember bleeding on November 9.  Red blood.  Right on time.  Like an actual period.  I even posted about it here.

I’m still flummoxed.

So… 11 weeks, huh?  It wasn’t until after the appointment that I was able to pull out my calender and really count back the dates.  We must have conceived right after T. came back from his most recent consulting trip, the last week in October.  Right before V. weaned herself.

I’m still stunned.

I had no freaking idea I was pregnant until 2 weeks ago.  I had coffee several times a week.  I had alcohol at least 6 times that I can remember.  I slipped and fell hard on my icy front steps three weeks ago.  I was bleeding, from my vagina, on November 9.  Ok.  So.  Yes, it was a very light period, now that I think about it, only 4 days long and not a single fully soaked tampon.   But red.  Blood.  If I hadn’t seen that little fetus on Tuesday, if I hadn’t actually heard the beating heart, I’d be seriously freaking the hell out.  So in a way, I’m glad I didn’t know, when I fell, or when I was bleeding, that I was pregnant at the time.

EDD is July 19.  I can’t wait.

10 Responses to “The whole story”

  1. Not On Fire Says:

    That is great news! What a wonderful gift! I am so happy for you.

  2. Rachel Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t tell you how excited I am for you. I am so happy you didn’t have to wait several more years to add to your family.

    No wonder V weened herself suddenly. Don’t beat yourself up about the coffee or the alcohol. My friend and her sister have both drank a glass of wine a day throughout each of their pregnancies, between them they have 8 healthy children.

  3. sharah Says:

    Awesome news! What a way to start the new year!

  4. La Loca Says:

    WOW! That’s wonderful news. Congrats!! That’s exactly what happened to me. Crazy, yet wonderful.

  5. niobe Says:

    Wow. Wow. So freakin happy for you.

  6. Princessjo Says:

    Congratulations 🙂

  7. breefromprojectkjetil Says:

    Wow! That’s wild, in a lucky sort of way, and I look forward to following your story. Just think… you (sort of) got to fast forward through the first trimester!

  8. Caro Says:

    Wow! Congrats

  9. Mrs. Gamgee Says:

    Hokey Dinah! That’s what you call a surprise! Congratulations!

  10. Rebeccah Says:

    Wow! Just catching up with my blogroll and omg!!! Congratulations! : )

Leave a Reply

