What would I do/give for that?

The first time around, it felt like please oh please oh please god I’ll do ANYTHING, just let me have a baby so this pain will stop.

Now I have a baby.  Well, a toddler.  And I adore her.

And I want another one.

And I’m still breastfeeding.

And I know that weaning will increase my chances of conceiving again.  In fact, my ob/gyn probably won’t want to prescribe the little magic clomid pill until I stop nursing.

And it’s so hard to stop.  Because she doesn’t want to, not yet.  And while I’m not a lactivist/attachment/natural parenting diehard like my sister is, my approach so far has been very much influenced by that philosophy.  It feels right for her, for us, to still be breastfeeding at this point in time – and it’s not a lot, usually about 4x a day these days (more if she’s not feeling well) – but it’s a lot more than the 1x a day I’ve set as our next goal. 

So how hard do I push it? 

What do I take away from my existing child in the here and now in order to create a better chance for the possibility of a sibling in the hazy and indeterminate future?

I think it would be good for her to have a sibling. 

It feels very out of reach at this point.

9 Responses to “What would I do/give for that?”

  1. Rachel Says:

    That’s a tough one. Do what feels right.

  2. caro Says:

    What Rachel said. I will say though that I found it fairly easy to cut down the nursing one session at a time by distracting T and giving him lots of attention instead.

  3. Rachel Says:

    I am definitely struggling with this same issue. I love breastfeeding and I know that every failed cycle after weaning my daughter I will mourn not only the failure but the time we could have spent together nursing. Such a difficult issue.

  4. Sunny Says:

    I kept breastfeeding my son right through our treatments (Follistim and IUI). It was important for me not to stop — I refused to stop. I had worked so hard to get pregnant, delivery was horrible, and we struggled with BFing at the beginning. There was no way I was going to short-change our BFing relationship.

    A lot of OB/GYNs will give Clomid if you are BFing. My RE said, “Well, on the record, I have to tell you to wean. But we can do a prolactin test, and if the result is less than 20, the breastfeeding won’t affect success rates so we can move forward.”

    The RE had me nurse my son (actually, I pumped) immediately before a blood draw. This ensured that my prolactin was the highest it ever is. My test came back entirely normal, just as I suspected — I did not have elevated prolactin.

    We did the injectibles and IUI and got pregnant on our first try.

    I know it’s a hard decision, though. Good luck with whatever you decide!!

  5. Farah Says:

    i have no advice just prayers

  6. Christina Says:

    I would do what feels right for the two of you. I stopped breastfeeding my son, before we were ready, and I regret that. Sunny left great advise. You should speak with your doctor. Maybe you can get tested and possibly use Clomid again. Best wishes.

  7. Christina Says:

    p

  8. www.dailymotion.com Says:

    Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from
    an established blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things
    out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where
    to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Thanks

  9. Brigette Says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe this amazing site needs a
    great deal more attention. I’ll probably be returning to see more, thanks for the info!

Leave a Reply

