Denoument

It’s spring break here, so we went to see my family for a few days.  When we got back, I gathered up my resolve and called Brianna.  No answer, so I left a voicemail asking her to call me back sometime.  The next morning (today) I got an e-mail from her (no subject line):

I am emailing you to inform you that i will no longer be able to watch V. Nothing in particular has happened, however i just feel like i am no longer a good match for what you and your husband are looking for. I hope that you are able to find some one who fits your needs.
thank you

This is what I wrote back:

Hi Brianna,
I was hoping to do this at least by phone rather than over e-mail, but I guess we’re on the same page – I do want to thank you for trying again with her/us. I appreciate your gifts in child care but I agree that it hasn’t been working particularly well. I wish you the best with your studies and everything else.
Take care,
Elizabeth

Ok… so I guess the first line of my response was a little passive-aggressive… but I was irritated that she quit before I could fire her!  Silly of me, I know.  I feel relieved, but also apprehensive about the coming week and being able to get my work done. 

Such a tempest in a teapot.  Well, now I know, next time, don’t get dazzled by credentials, look for fit in terms of personality and general philosophy of life as well.

2 Responses to “Denoument”

  1. Farah Says:

    Sounds like she saw the wtiting on the wall and was beating you to the punch. Good Luck finding a match for your family and getting work done next week.

  2. Rachel Says:

    I hope you find a good fit for the next one. I know if can be hard, but it is important.

Leave a Reply

