ups and downs (rinse, repeat)

I am bouncing between floor and ceiling like a human powerball.  Yesterday T. really stepped it up, after I mentioned that I had blogged about our, um, frank meeting of minds.  He started clearing an upstairs room to become my office, and took over re-settling baby to sleep in the wee small hours this morning.  More importantly, he keeps checking in about what I need and making sure that we’re negotiating rather than him just making executive decisions.  So I was feeling good.  Then last night was another night from hell, and this morning I was a wreck again.  But we had a good morning, the sitter put V. down for her nap, and things are looking better now. 

I feel like I now understand with crystalline clarity why people in industrialized, atomized, wired, automated, nuclear societies have fewer children.  I keep thinking about the women I knew in Bolivia who would have 7 or 8… not that they necessarily wanted to, mind you – many women told me they’d be happy with 2 or 3 – but it’s somehow more doable within a different kind of social arrangement.

2 Responses to “ups and downs (rinse, repeat)”

  1. Farah Says:

    I am glad you had a good conversation and that is some progress

  2. docgrumbles Says:

    I agree that social arrangements very much determine how many children are feasible for a family.

    Glad you made some progress.

Leave a Reply

