December already?

I decided at the last minute to go see my sister for Thanksgiving… while I don’t regret it, I do feel totally depressed about the amount of work I have to do in the next two weeks since I didn’t get nearly as much done as I hoped last week.  I’m mostly depressed knowing that it’s all going to be a half-assed crap job because I won’t have enough time to do it well.  There just isn’t enough of me to go around.  I heard a radio interview once not long ago of a woman academic who said that you can do two out of three well: marriage, motherhood, and career – but not all three.  Is that true?  I told T. before he left on his current trip that I’m really glad we had a solid relationship before baby, because wow – there’s not much left of us for each other.  Our nightly ritual of cuddle time is reduced to a quick hug and kiss, and we’ve nicknamed the Critter “Insomnia Contraceptive.”  Oh my lord, I lover her so much.  This love short-circuits everything else. 

Traveling with baby V. was not as bad as I feared it would be, but it wasn’t what I’d call “fun.”  I’m so glad we’re still breastfeeding and didn’t have to deal with bottles and liquids and airport security.  I’m glad that I was able to wear the bjorn through the security check also; that made it a lot easier.  At one airport (I think it was Savannah) they had a special “family” line where one of the security people helped you lift your bag off and on the belt and even picked up your shoes off the ground and put them in the plastic bin!  That was pretty nice.

Leave a Reply

