The Christians and the Pagans

(read the next post first)
… and then, when you least expected it, the bit of grace you needed to carry you through.

Yesterday I was able to stop by at home and get my mail (along with clean underwear, my journal, lotion, and a few other sundries…). In the mailbox was a package from a former student and now friend, R., with this little pendant in it: If you can’t tell what it is in the picture, it’s a metal dye-cast version of this. The tag that comes with it says “… she symbolizes the nurturing and support that motherhood creates. She is fat, showing her abundant life-energy. To many, she is the symbol of life itsef, and the creative side of womanhood.”

Today, I was sitting in bed weeping when the phone rang. It was my knitting-friend E. She’d heard through the grapevine that I was on bedrest and rang to see how I was doing and to share some verses from the Bible that she read during her three deliveries. Even my crusty old heart was soothed and comforted by these words:

Isaiah 46:4
And even to your old age I am he; and even to hoar hairs will I carry you: I have made, and I will bear; even I will carry, and will deliver you.

Isaiah 66:9
Shall I bring to the birth, and not cause to bring forth? saith the LORD: shall I cause to bring forth, and shut the womb? saith thy God.

I know there are times when words like these seem like a mockery of broken promises; but right now they reach deep inside of me and there is comfort there. Perhaps it was just the loving comfort a friend’s voice when I needed it most.
In any case, as I was typing this, the nurse came by and took my BP again – 151/99.
One Response to “The Christians and the Pagans”

  1. Dr. Grumbles Says:

    Friends can be great sources of support.

    Right now I am wondering if your status has changed any.

Leave a Reply

