And the Oscar Goes To….

One minute you’re getting ready to go to campus to grade papers and do class prep, the next minute you’re being trundled down the hall in a hospital gown…

The good news: the Critter is doing just fine, wiggling away and measuring perfectly on track for 33w6d. More good news: BP is falling (THANK GOD) to a more reasonable level, most recently something over 84.

So why am I strapped to monitors and peeing in a jug?

Sunday night SUCKED. I had a low-grade headache all weekend, but by Sunday night it was so bad it took me two hours to fall asleep. I kept waking up all night to the pounding in my head. So I got up at 8 and straightaway called the ob/gyn; they said to come in at 9:30. The dipstick was negative for protein in the urine, but they took my bp and it was still way high – 160/102. So the midwife said: bedrest. And a 24-hour urine test. She said I could either do this at home, or at the hospital – and T. persuaded me to go to the hospital. I guess it’s just as well since we’ve had contractors in our apartment for the past 5 WEEKS redoing the bathroom (it was supposed to take 2). It’s mostly done, they just had to come back today to put in a mirrored cabinet and fix the door. Anyway, I’m now getting my first look at the maternity ward here.

The awkward thing was scrambling to cover my class; fortunately friend and office-mate C. was available to hand back papers and make general announcements. And I got a little emotional as I watched our plans for the week unravel. But on the plus side, we got another ultrasound, and got to see the critter’s little face (and internal organs), and the tech wrote the sex on a piece of paper and put it in a sealed envelope that we can open whenever we feel like. For now, I feel like it’s all still too much to process as it is.

2 Responses to “And the Oscar Goes To….”

  1. tara Says:

    glad you are being taken care of!!! lots of love and hugs to you as you rest…
    yikes- will you be able to travel back to the burg??

  2. Rachel Says:

    I am sorry for the stress, I am sure that didn’t help the BP much.

    I hope that you are able to relax. I know delivery at 33 weeks isn’t ideal, but if it happens Critter will be OK.

    I am glad to hear you are doing OK.

Leave a Reply

