6 lies and 2 truths

I grew up in the jungles of Peru, so have fun sorting out lies from truths!

1. My first pet was a boa constrictor.

2. As a young adult, I used to regularly drive a motorcycle (Honda XL 125) across a river (during dry season).

3. We briefly had a monkey as a pet, until it was killed by army ants.

4. One time my sister was swimming in the lake near our house and a piranha bit off part of her little toe. The next day, a boy we went to school with was fishing and caught a piranha. When he gutted it, he found the missing piece of her toe inside!

5. As kids, we always went barefoot everywhere, including to school and to church. I even learned to drive a motorcycle barefoot.

6. I learned to speak Quechua before either Spanish or English.

7. One time in the 1990s when shopping with a group of friends in town, gunfire opened up on the street (terrorist-related activity) and we had to hide in the back of a truck until it died down.

8. For several years when I was in elementary school, my mom cooked all our meals over an open fire. Yep, just like you see on “Survivor.”

He he he.

5 Responses to “6 lies and 2 truths”

  1. Megan Says:

    Awesome. I want to read the book that tells all of these stories in detail. Let me know when you write it! 😉

    I think the truths are the feet ones, 4 and 5. 4 because I don’t think you could make that up and think for a second that anyone would believe it, so it would be a more plausible inclusion if it were true, and 5 because I love being barefoot, and I think if I had been allowed that I would have done the same thing.

  2. Rachel Says:

    I guess that 2 and 5 are true.

  3. The Town Criers Says:

    I love this game. I’m going to say that #2 and #7 are true.

  4. SaraS-P Says:

    I guess 5 and 7.

  5. The Town Criers Says:

    Now you have to tell us if we’re right 🙂

Leave a Reply

