Alone in a Crowd

At the prenatal yoga class I’m going to, we start out by saying our names and due dates (we always have the option to “pass”). Today, one woman said her name, and then added, “we’re still trying to get pregnant.”

I was floored by her courage in being there. I couldn’t have done it. I couldn’t have gone to a yoga class where part of the instructor’s mantra is “open your awareness to the baby within,” where everyone is surreptitiously sizing up one another’s bumps, or standing around after class comparing symptoms. No way.

I wanted to go talk to her but she vanished pretty quick. We did make eye contact while putting away our mats, and I smiled, but she slipped away. I just don’t want her to feel alone is all.

One Response to “Alone in a Crowd”

  1. niobe Says:

    Hmmm….I wonder if she just started trying or recently got a + but doesn’t feel comfortable admitting it yet. Because going to prenatal yoga when you’re not pregnant just seems, well, odd.

Leave a Reply

