More happiness

All is well; heard the heartbeat today and got back integrated screening test results – all normal! The neural tube defect risk came back as 1:4300, Down’s as 1:9000, and I forget the trisomy one – it was somewhere between those two. My blood pressure is way down – an astonishing 122/64, and my weight is exactly the same as it was a month ago. The big long ultrasound will be in two weeks.

T. came with me for once (I think this is only the second appointment he’s been able to come with me for). I asked him his impressions, and he said “smooth… maybe a little impersonal, but you said you liked the efficiency. It was like ok, nothing’s wrong, so we’re not going to sit here and invent things to talk about.”

No kidding!

I also learned that the strange clenching feeling I’ve been experiencing sporadically for the past few weeks is Braxton-Hicks contractions, and nothing to worry about. It’s what I suspected – the first couple times it happened I was a little worried, but there was no pain or spotting or anything else, and I was getting kicks again, so figured it was ok. They usually last about 10-5 seconds, and may happen a couple times in one day but usually just every couple of days.

I went to the university bookstore this afternoon and almost bought a “Go Big Red” onesie… but am not quite ready for that yet…

I’m knitting a cream-colored alpaca shawl to use as a baby blanket, but it’s ambiguous enough (I mean, it could actually be a shawl) that it feels ok, as in not a jinx.

3 Responses to “More happiness”

  1. niobe Says:

    Sounds like everything is going very well…

  2. Caro Says:

    Great news!

  3. tara Says:

    yea!!! trying to adjust 2 work with a baby… & got my evaluations back from last semester…. someone had the nerve to say that i shouldn’t have had a baby during the last 2 weeks of class… don’t even know how to respond to that one

Leave a Reply

