Two things

1. My in-laws stopped by for brunch today on their way back South; MIL asked me, apropos of nothing, “so are you going to have a natural birth?”

I said “I have noooo idea.” (Thinking: Geez, woman, that’s a long ways away – don’t count your proverbial chickens!)

“I mean,” she went on, “is T. going to be there with you, helping you breathe and telling you what to do?”

“He’d better not be telling me what to do!” I said, for a laugh. She went on then to reminisce about her own experiences of childbirth etc.

I have to figure out how to deflect these questions. I really don’t feel comfortable discussing the matter with her, particularly in front of my FIL. My plan from here on out is to turn it around: “What do you think, based on your own experiences?” and prepare to hear many a gory tale. I’m much better at listening than disclosure. Plus, people like being asked for their opinion.

2. Today I went shopping and bought 4 pairs of pants and 4 tops. I totally scored at the thrift store, I’m so happy! Nice warm pants to wear that aren’t sweats! Yay! Most of the stuff is too big at this point but I’m looking forward to wearing it after New Year’s. Assuming all goes well until then.

2 Responses to “Two things”

  1. niobe Says:

    Your idea about asking “what do you think?” sounds like a good one. Or, if the questions are annoying enough, you can invent ridiculous answers.

    Q: Are you going to have a natural birth?
    A: Actually, I was thinking that a supernatural one would be easier.

  2. Elizabeth Says:

    I love it!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

