Bah! Yours is a Trivial Martyrdom

(that’s what one of my college professors used to say when he’d call us out on complaining)
I have zits on my chin.
The progestrone seems to make me feel hungry ALL THE TIME.
I rode a bus 13 hours last night (driving in a car would have taken exactly half as long).

Actually I really like taking the bus, except for it takes so long. Otherwise it’s kind of mesmerizing, and makes me feel like a college kid again. Until an actual college kid sits next to me with a big old hickey on her neck and starts texting while reading Don Quixote. Then I feel old.

8 Responses to “Bah! Yours is a Trivial Martyrdom”

  1. niobe Says:

    I feel old just reading about it.

  2. Kristen Says:

    13 hours is quite the ride. I would go nuts without some kind of distraction.

  3. LJ Says:

    13 hours would kill me, as I can’t read on a bus or in a car.

    On the zits – I totally hear you. I started washing my face in the middle of the day to decrease the painful painful zits on my chin.

  4. LIW (Lady In Waiting) Says:

    Clo.mid has done the same thing to my face. Nothing like zits to make you feel even worse about not being young! Clear skin is supposed to be one of the benefits of being between 30 and 50. Argh!

    I used to teach college courses and then directed interns and gosh did they make me feel OLD. They didn’t understand some of my cultural references. I know how you felt on that bus!

  5. Lori Says:

    I don’t know where to put this comment appropriately, as it makes no sense here, but I appreciated your visit to my blog. Reading yours has taken me back to my days when infertility dominated my life. It’s a hard road, and the uncertainty is the worst. I am sorry you are having to travel this road yourself.

    I never know if my story is inspiring and hopeful to women with infertility, or just one more story to make you feel “left out.” I would hate for that to be so, but I also understand well those feelings.

    I wish you the very, very best and hope a new little one is in your very near future!

  6. Rachel Says:

    13 hours is insane….. and progesterone makes me constipated. 🙂

    We’re not old — we’re experienced.

  7. Manda Says:

    HI! I’m new here and I just wanted to THANK you so much for your sidebar with all the abbreviations. SO HELPFUL! I have been feeling dumb this week not knowing what it all means.
    You’re great!!
    Manda
    http://insidedog.typepad.com/ohbaby
    (1 MC, no kids, TTC … maybe).
    🙂

  8. SaraS-P Says:

    Icky icky zitties!

Leave a Reply

