What does this mean? (*with update)

So, the IUI may or may not happen tomorrow. I had a double line yesterday on the OPK, at 3:00, again at 9:00, and again this morning at 11:00. Tomorrow I go in for a wanding at 9:30 a.m.

Does a 20-hour range make sense for detecting a luteal surge? I thought it only lasted 12 hours.

—–
Evidently a surge can last up to 2 days, who knew? Or you can have more than one surge in a cycle. According to Dr. G–gle (with a ton of help from Mel), I learned that the first positive is the key indicator of when ovluation will occur. The positive has to be a very clear positive though, none of this wishy-washy faint-line business. Well, my positive early Saturday afternoon was very strong, the test line was immediately darker than the control line. So I’m expecting that tomorrow morning well see a corpus luteum sans egg. Put that together with mild cramping in the ovarian regions this afternoon and I think I’m right. So on that basis, we got it on both yesterday and today. We shall see what we shall see.

Today was a lovely dark and rainy day, perfect for spending hours reading under a warm lamp. Last night I slept 12 hours, and Friday night I slept for 14 – I think I’m close to recovering from the massive sleep deprivation of the previous several days!

5 Responses to “What does this mean? (*with update)”

  1. Caro Says:

    no idea, sorry, but good luck for tomorrow.

  2. niobe Says:

    My ignorance in these matters is boundless, but I’m very much hoping for a good result on the IUI whenever it takes place.

  3. Samantha Says:

    I have no idea either, but I hope you’re able to do the IUI.

  4. LJ Says:

    Um. I think once you have the surge, you O in 36 hours. That’s why they time the triggers for IVF (at least that is my understanding). So I would think you should have it Monday…but your bloodwork should show.

  5. Rachel Says:

    I know absolutely nothing about the surges, but if you have the IUI today, I hope it goes well.

Leave a Reply

