Timing

All right people, I need some advice. Sunday night I’m going to a grad student potluck where alcohol will freely flow (I’m assuming). Sunday is cd28 (my ticker is off by one day and I didn’t feel like fixing it). I was planning to POAS Sunday morning so I would know whether or not I could drink. But then I started thinking, what if it was a BFP? I wouldn’t want to tell anyone, but a few people know I’ve been trying and I wonder whether I could hide it. I don’t know. I think I can be pretty inscrutable when I want to be. Part of the issue is that I’ve put on some weight over the summer, and I’m worried that that factor combined with abstaining from alcohol will make people jump to conclusions (founded or unfounded).

Maybe I have to accept the fact that NOT EVERYBODY THINKS ABOUT THIS SHIT ALL THE TIME EVEN THOUGH I SEEM TO BE ABLE TO THINK ABOUT NOTHING ELSE.

Maybe the best ploy would be to slowly sip a glass of wine (at least hold it for a long time) but not actually drink anything, and not POAS until there seems to be reason to.

I’m trying to ignore my rack, which is currently fitting perfectly into a bra that was too big three weeks ago. But I’ve had too many cycles of big sore boobs with nothing to show for it to consider it anything too significant.

6 Responses to “Timing”

  1. LJ Says:

    Two ideas, both of which start with not testing:

    1. Grab a drink and don’t drink from it all night. Or just grab some sprite and say it is a vodka tonic.

    2. Don’t grab a drink, and if someone asks, just say you’re on antibiotics.

  2. Caro Says:

    The slow sipping technique is probably the best option.

  3. SaraS-P Says:

    yes, slow sipping sounds good

  4. niobe Says:

    Or you could fill a wine glass with water and drink from that. It’s not *quite* the same color as white wine, but it’ll probably be dark enough that no one will be able to tell. Or get a glass of wine, hold it for a while, excuse yourself, pour it down the sink in the bathroom, then conspicuously ask the host/ess for a refill.

    Sadly, people (at least the people I know) do tend to notice these things, so if you really don’t want them to guess, you might have to do a little acting.

  5. Samantha Says:

    I always go with gingerale, and just say something vague, like “medications,” if someone offers me a drink and I turn them down. Or else people assume I’ve mixed it with something more powerful. You could even try, “all of this travel this summer has STILL upset my body clock! Can you believe it? So I’m staying away from the hard stuff until I can get back on east coast time.” Say it loud enough so everyone can hear.

  6. Mands Says:

    Hi Elizabeth.. Thanks for your comment on my last post.
    I usually order a wine and a lemonade and make myself a spritzer. Then sip on that slowly, and have a glass of water handy too!
    I also like lj’s suggestions…

    good luck with this cycle!

Leave a Reply

