Reverse Rip Van Winkle

Niobe is right, it is spooky being here after 8 years. There are many physical details and qualities of place that unearth memories and sensations belonging to the past into my present consciousness. I feel double: the person I was then, and who I am now. But familiarity and strangeness juxtapose and interpenetrate without visible or palpable boundaries. I can take three steps and go from a sensation of familiarity and continuity into a space of strangeness and disjunction.

T. and I remarked to each other that it feels like we were gone 1 year, not 8. That’s how strong the memories are – and how little many things have changed.

One Response to “Reverse Rip Van Winkle”

  1. Caro Says:

    Great post, I went back to a city I’d lived in, for 6 months, 10 years before and was surprised at how little it felt familiar.

Leave a Reply

