Posting from Bolivia

Here I am, my 100th post. Hm.

I’ve been in Bolivia for a little over a week now, and this afternoon I couldn’t remember where I was. Guatemala? Peru? The landscape was all mountains and scrubby brown trees, winding dirt road and rocky riverbeds below. T. and I are half a team of consultants or external evaluators reviewing the country program where we were both volunteers 8 years ago. When we walked out of the customs area in the airport, I turned to him and said “this is where I first laid eyes on you.” I remember thinking to myself at the time (1996), Hey, he’s kind of cute! Then we proceeded to annoy each other to no end for the following year, and then we fell in love.

So far four people, all women, have asked me whether we have children yet. In this culture where the norm for parenting is mid-20s, I feel a bit like a freak.

Other than being worn out by the very long work days (10-12 hours, including weekends) things are going well. And I’ve almost finished knitting a sock!

5 Responses to “Posting from Bolivia”

  1. Rachel Says:

    I am not sure what your job is, but I would love to travel to the places you go!

    I am sorry you get the questions about children. I know it is difficult no matter who is asking.

    Enjoy your trip!

  2. SaraS-P Says:

    Congrats on 100 posts!

  3. niobe Says:

    It would be a little spooky for me to go back to a place where I’d spent a lot of time 8 years before. I’d feel like I was seeing double — once things as they are and once with the eyes of the past.

  4. tara Says:

    hey, glad to hear that you are enjoying bolivia despite the ever present norms and questions. i ran into emily yesterday and she asked how you were- miss you lots

  5. SweltejerrolE Says:

    I’m the only one in this world. Can please someone join me in this life? Or maybe death…

Leave a Reply

