Things People Say

Last night I had dinner with a friend from my cohort who is facing imminent divorce. I gave her my IF update, and she said what I knew she was going to say – “you always have the option to adopt, then you’ll get a baby for sure!” And it didn’t bother me, in large part because she herself was adopted. She told me the whole story one time, and that she is still in contact with her biological family (who live in west Africa). At the same time, I certainly didn’t say to her, “you’ll meet someone else” or “there are other fish in the sea.” She’s very young.

Even though I’m still largely in the closet, it’s still nice to have friends IRL to talk with about it.

5 Responses to “Things People Say”

  1. Caro Says:

    Yup having RL friends to talk to is good.

  2. SaraS-P Says:

    Talking is important.

    I would’ve gotten at least a little bit upset at the comment.

  3. Samantha Says:

    I agree, having IRL friends is helpful. It’s also good to get different perspectives and to know where they’re coming from. Good for you for holding your tongue about her divorce!

  4. Baby Blues Says:

    I look forward talking to a few friends who know about our journey and simply “get it”. I don’t know what I’ll do without them.

    As for her comment, I actually smile when I hear that still being said. It doesn’t bother me at all. I know they just mean well.

  5. Tara Says:

    I came across your blog and noticed you have had an HSG. I am getting ready to have one on Friday. Was it painful? Any words of advice? My blog is http://tara-roadtopregnancy.blogspot.com/ Thanks! Tara

Leave a Reply

