D’oh!

I missed the commentathon sign-up by just 5 minutes! Oh well – I dithered too long over how many comments I’ll be able to manage this week. We’re at a professional conference in Wisconsin; drove 17 hours to get here. Quality time in the car!

I feel really good, being here. I realized that the past three weeks have felt like an odd sort of limbo – I kept wearing my C.ornell t-shirt just to remind myself that, yes, I AM a student there. Not having structure yet feeling like oh my god there’s so much to DO, but I wasn’t doing it, and there were no consequences for not doing it, really threw me for a loop. And yet, not so different from my volunteer days (vague, self-directed assignment, total lack of supervision and structure, and that continuous internal pressure to for god’s sake DO SOMETHING!)

Here, to my great relief, I suddenly have a very clear script, role, and persona (think Goffman, if you’re into social science) and Hallelujah, I know exactly what to do with myself.

Anyway – I still want to do the commenty thing even if my numbers aren’t officially counted :-). So look out!

4 Responses to “D’oh!”

  1. Caro Says:

    I managed it but only just.

  2. Samantha Says:

    My husband has gotten that feeling on occasion too. It’s tough being a grad student to keep up the internal motivation. Enjoy the conference.

  3. Jackie Says:

    Hey, where are you in WI?? I lived in Madison for 13 years and could give you some restaurant recommendations if that is where you are. Oh, and if you are interested…Have a great week!

  4. The Town Criers Says:

    Here is your icy-cold fruity blush wine. Yah–join in and still comment. This is the week to spread some love. I just hope people keep up with the commenting in weeks to come.

    Where are you in WI? I also lived in Madison for 4 years.

Leave a Reply

