either end of the spectrum

So I went to church today, for the first time in about a year (give or take a few months). I guess that’s not strictly true – we went to an Easter service, and I’ve been twice with my parents in Peru. But those don’t really “count” to me, since I was going for other reasons than just because I wanted to. Today I actually just wanted to.

Afterwards went to a coffee/bagel shop with some friends, as we’ve been doing for over a year – this is more like “church” to me than church is; we talk about silly things (like how hot men look in chaps) and serious things (like God and the meaning of life). Today we ended up talking about positive energy and the holy spirit. It was thought-provoking.

Sometimes I wonder to what extent negative energy in my life affects my fertility. But how would I know, either way?

Anyway, one of the *bonuses* of going to church today was learning that one of the teenagers who attends is about six months along. Sigh…

At the other end of the spectrum, I was thinking about people who have experienced IF that we don’t know about. I have this crazy theory right now about Laura Bush. While at my parents’ house, I found an authorized biography of her on the shelf and all of a sudden what Mel would call my “laydar” started ringing in – fraternal twin girls, huh? I quickly found and read the section where it talks about them building their family. It’s interesting to try to read between the lines. They were having trouble conceiving; she was about 35 I think, and they had just started looking into adoption when she conceived. So did they use ART or not? What do you think? The book said they were happily surprised, but I can’t help but wonder whether there was medical calculation involved.

Just one more way in which IF insinuates into every nook and cranny of the brain.

One Response to “either end of the spectrum”

  1. Adrienne Says:

    ART for sure. My laydar rings every time I see the Bush twins.

Leave a Reply

