What’s going on?

Trying to keep perspective, big picture, etc. etc. 16 dpo spotting. Brown. BBT ambiguous b/c taken an hour earlier than usual, after only about 4 hours of sleep, and right on the coverline. Fell asleep again, 2 hours later took temp again, well over coverline.

But I finished my second paper at 2 a.m. last night and it’s damn good if I do say so myself.

As an “older” grad student (this is a second career kind of thing), I often find myself quite bemused by the lack of maturity and professionalism evidenced in some of the young’uns. There is an incredible tempest-in-a-teapot going on right now, because a person in a leadership position for the student association for our department sent out a bitter, finger-wagging e-mail and cc-ed faculty, basically chewing everybody out for poor attendance at student-sponsored events this year. I understand that s/he felt embarrased by the lack of participation, and probably took it really personally, but the way s/he chose to express this was childish to the extreme and has everybody up in arms. I’m tangentially involved, since I’m actually interested in filling this same position next year (motivated in part by knowing I could do a hell of a better job) so am trying to be as diplomatic as possible. Fortunately, my professional training in the non-profit world is serving me quite, quite well. Of course, a lot of learning came from a couple serious mis-steps when I was younger, so perhaps I am inclined to show this person a little more grace than some others are.

Uh-oh – feeling a little crampy in the lower back there. Not a good sign. Even though the Magic 8 Ball said I wouldn’t get my period this week or next week. I asked it this morning: “Are you a liar?” Answer: “Absolutely!”

2 Responses to “What’s going on?”

  1. thirdtimelucky Says:

    oh academia is so much “fun” for those tempest in a teapot moments. One of the aspects I don’t miss.

  2. Baby Blues Says:

    I owned a Magic 8 Ball once but I think I broke it by throwing it out the window. 🙂

Leave a Reply

