Wimp (*edited to add clarification*)

I feel so utterly pathetic. This afternoon between classes I decided to go to the walk-in counseling service on campus; I wanted help figuring out how to get through class (*where I sit across from the newly pg classmate – see previous post*). But while I was sitting in the waiting area, I heard someone in a nearby office say, “Wow, that baby is getting so big!” And I just lost it again. Waterworks in the waiting area.

The counselor asked me what I would do if I didn’t go to class, and I said my instinct was to just crawl into bed and hibernate. She asked me what the consequences would be if I missed class and I said “nothing,” because really, I did the reading, I wrote up my analysis/response, and I can always borrow someone’s notes. I can make up an excuse for the professor.

I called T, he’s being really supportive. It just sucks he’s not here in the flesh.

I still feel like I should be strong enough to have gone to class today. I feel like my ego’s been crushed.

*Later: I did indeed go home and crawl into bed with my laptop for some therapeutic blogging, lurking, and mindless surfing. Later my friend C. invited me over for American Idol and grilled cheese sandwiches with tomato soup. Can you say “comfort food”? Thanks also, Tara, for the phone call and e-mails. I feel loved! 🙂

5 Responses to “Wimp (*edited to add clarification*)”

  1. Samantha Says:

    I’m so sorry about finding out you didn’t get the fellowship and that your classmate is pregnant. Just too much on the same day! {hugs}

  2. LJ Says:

    You are so NOT a wimp. I’m so sorry you have to deal with so much today, but repeat after me:

    I AM NOT A WIMP!

  3. thirdtimelucky Says:

    So sorry to hear about all this happening together. I totally understand your reaction and you totally deserve an oscar for your performance.

  4. Baby Blues Says:

    Sorry about your tough day. Sending over more “comfort food”! I agree, blogging and surfing is therapeutic.

    You are loved. 🙂

  5. Zee Says:

    Sorry about the double whammy of the fellowship and the pg classmate. It’s so unfair. I don’t know why crappy news seems to travel in packs (like wolves or teenaged boys) but it always seems to, doesn’t it? Sending empathy and a hug to you.

Leave a Reply

