Ok, just one more little thing. Or two.

As we left the ob/gyn today, I said to T “I think I’d happily take effiency over touchy-feely any day.” My last provider was really good with the touchy-feely, really really bad with the efficiency.

This is when I had called to confirm my HSG
Me: I’m just calling to confirm my appointment for tomorrow.
Them: Ok, hang on just a minute
(annoying music for 10 or 15 minutes)
Them: I’m sorry, we’re going to have to reschedule you.
Me: (starting to cry) Is there no way you can fit me in?
Them: No, I’m really sorry, it’s just that there were a couple of births, and the doctors are really busy…
Me: There is absolutely no other doctor in all of H-burg who could do this for me?
Them: Hang on, let me check a minute.
(on hold another 10 minutes)
Them: Oh, I’m sorry, you DO have the appointment for tomorrow, because it’s at the HOSPITAL, not here! I just had you confused with somebody else!

Holy mother of god, you had me confused with somebody else????

Today, everything was perfectly direct, straightforward, no-nonsense. No extra warmth or small talk either, either, though… kinda wham bam thank-you-ma’am….

But hey, I’ll take efficiency over touchy-feely any day.

—–

The other little thing: I was at the campus bookstore and wandered into the clothing section with kiddie clothes and started crying over the wee little “Go Big Red” onesie. I almost bought one… but I’m not that optimistic.

3 Responses to “Ok, just one more little thing. Or two.”

  1. SaraS-P Says:

    yes, I would not want to be confused with another patient!

    I often see baby clothes that tempt me, but then I think of how pathetic I would feel if I don’t get pregnant. Ah, hope can really mess with you!

  2. Mands Says:

    Had a cry myself when shopping for my sister in law’s baby shower. Got passed everything else, but the little clothes caught me!

  3. Baby Blues Says:

    It’s scary when you hear them getting confused over patients. And that’s just an appointment. What if we’re talking about procedures!? (Ooops wrong sample.)

    Stay away from the baby stuff aisle! They’re tempting and cute but IF could give a mean punch while you’re lingering there.

Leave a Reply

