Hope and the Husband

Thanks for the comments on Hope… my husband actually has a better relationship with Hope than I do; I being the disappointed idealist, himself being the optimistic cynic. He has no trouble believing that everything is going to work out in the end, somehow, and we’re all going to be fine, whereas I tend to see DOOM and GLOOM and UTTER CATASTROPHE just waiting around the corner. Whenever something good happens, I steel myself, waiting for the other shoe to drop. For a long time I delayed ttc because I believed that if we had a child, he or she would surely commit suicide by the age of 21. I guess now I sort of understand that it is possible that we would be ok, even should that happen, but what I’m really trying to say is that my husband’s outlook on life tends to be a bit…sunnier than mine! What would I do without him? No, really, what would I do?

Leave a Reply

