Random Musings

Ok, so I think I’m over my irritation with young stars in the news for getting knocked up. I do think it has a lot to do with our cultural ambivalence about women in the public eye – it’s as though our society wants to keep reminding women that even though there is greater freedom now than in previous eras for us to accomplish great things in the public arena, those accomplishments are secondary to our private family role as mothers and caregivers.

But on a more personal, less philosophical level, I just don’t want to become bitter – it leaves a bad aftertaste.

I was thinking about Hope’s capacity to jerk us around, and remembered that in the story of Pandora’s Box, Hope is the last thing left in the box after all the evil and mischief is released (by, of course, the world’s first woman). So is hope a good thing or a bad thing? I think the story actually leaves this ambiguous. The sentimental children’s versions we tell make it out to be the consolation prize from the gods. “So you’ve released all manner of evil into the world, but it’s going to be ok, because at least you still have hope.” Hm…. consolation, or further punishment? Depends how you look at it, I guess.

4 Responses to “Random Musings”

  1. sharah Says:

    I’ve always wondered why Pandora kept hope in the box — it always seemed to me that it should have been set free to counter the evils she loosed. But now that we’re dealing with IF, I can see how hope can seem like something that needs to be kept boxed up and out of sight. Definitely something to spend some more time thinking about.

  2. Samantha Says:

    Thanks for your thoughtful comments on my blog. Hope is definitely a double-edged sword. But without it, how could we even do any of these fertility cycles? You have to be looking forward to something to put yourself through everything! I have also found that trying to contain my hope hasn’t really made the disappoinment any less. Maybe Pandora let it out after all.

  3. Mands Says:

    I have this quote on my desk (I think it’s from the Shawshank Redemption):
    “Hope is a good thing, perhaps the only thing, and good things never die.”
    When I feel doubt and cynicism creeping in, I read that quote.

  4. Zee Says:

    I love mands’s quote here, and I agree with her. Hope isn’t a punishment, although sometimes it may feel that way. I think it’s the antidote (or palliative) to despair. And even if you keep hoping for something that you never get, it’s hope that keeps you going long enough to maybe get to the thing you were meant to have all along. (At least, that’s what I’m hoping!)

Leave a Reply

