Rummaging around under the hood

Can I just say, so far I’m tentatively very impressed with my new ob/gyn providers. Organized, professional, helpful, and kind. Last year’s bunch, not so much. I called the new people today to schedule an ultrasound (evidently they want to take a good look at my ovaries), and while on the phone asked them to have my NP call me back, which she did within an hour. Since the best day for the u/s, according to my cycle, falls on a weekend, I had scheduled it for the Monday after, but she wanted me to change it to the Friday before that weekend, which actually was WONDERFUL because that Monday is my BIRTHDAY and really, who wants to be reminded of their infertility on their BIRTHDAY??? Geez … Anyway, the real reason I’d wanted her to call me was b/c T. wants to have another SA done. The first one was done about a year ago, and the results were good – perhaps not spectacular, but actually decent. HOWEVER – last year when I called my provider to find out the test results, I spent about 15 minutes on hold while they tried to find the results, which had evidently been misplaced somewhere.

Not a big deal, one might think, except that this was part of a consistent pattern of inconsistency and disorganization that plagued Every. Single. One. of my interactions with last year’s provider. I have to say that the NP I met with was really nice, spent over an hour with me, gave me sound and practical advice, was thoughtful, kind, and professional. But the front desk people were just plain incompetent. I had to do one blood test twice b/c nobody told me I was supposed to be fasting that day. When I had the HSG done, I wasn’t sure whether it was actually going to happen that day or not until I had the little hospital band on my wrist and was putting on the gown, just because the information and instructions they gave me were so confused and contradictory. They could never get straight what phone # to reach me at. And really bad about returning calls in a timely manner. I never felt like I mattered. I consistently got the message in one way or another that I was less important than women actually gestating. I was happy to shake the dust off my shoes when I left there.

Today, it turned out that Friday the 9th was booked up, but after a brief consultation with the NP, the receptionist came back and said “she’ll take care of you herself. We can fit you in at 11:10.” Now that’s what I’m talking about. That’s why my husband wants to do the SA again; he has no great love for little cups, but we just don’t have confidence in our previous provider. Or, as he put it, “I’d just like them to get in there again for a good rummage under the hood.” (He cracks me up – that’s why I married him!)

I have to confess I had a little cry while driving back from picking up his “prescription” and cup. I said to him, “I’ve just tried so hard my whole life to be a good person and to do the right thing. I don’t understand why we have to go through this.” Maybe it’s a little reminder from the Universe to let loose and live a little, “to dance out of the lines and stray from the light” as Dar says. I don’t know. But it’s cd3 and I’m going to have a glass of wine with stinky cheese while I look over the readings for tomorrow.

3 Responses to “Rummaging around under the hood”

  1. Baby Blues Says:

    “I’ve just tried so hard my whole life to be a good person and to do the right thing. I don’t understand why we have to go through this.”

    Exactly how I feel about my IF. New to your blog. I’m with you in this journey.

  2. Mands Says:

    Hi Elizabeth. I came over from Princess SP. I know it’s hard to accept that we have been handed this burden to carry. I feel the same. I will be reading up on your history – would you think about posting a summary of your treatment for us newcomers to your site?

  3. Sarah Says:

    finding a good RE is so key. sounds like you’ve got that part down, good luck with the rest of it!

Leave a Reply

