update

So just a quick update on the school situation; after a weekend of agonizing over it, I had a calm and centered conversation with Illyria that eased my mind a great deal – I realized I was way more upset than she was, and that the teacher had not used force in feeding her and had backed off when Illyria refused to eat on Friday. Then Monday I talked with the teacher at length and also got a different picture from what I had been imagining; anyway, it was just good on both ends to clarify what we are thinking and feeling and overall our goals are the same, and even though I think there are clear cultural differences in the ways we look at food and eating and young children, the situation wasn’t as bad as I thought… so we carry on… and this week got back on track with trying new foods and so on. I still think that in April we will start to transition her to a kindergarden classroom in the nearby school; whether or not we switch to the bilingual school in August, well we’ll decide later. 

Yesterday was my birthday… was traveling most of the day… the team is doing something to surprise me at lunch today but some people didn’t realize it was supposed to be a surprise so I found out yesterday :-) Gimli gets back from the middle east tonight… lots of drama going on at work (but it’s not my drama)… I feel like giving up on the dissertation… it’s been raining a lot… the best thing about my birthday though was getting a really good night’s sleep last night! Hope that sets the tone for the year!

4 Responses to “update”

  1. happygoluckytireegal Says:

    Happy Birthday!!! Don’t give up on your dissertation. Glad that the situation with Illyria was clarified and it wasn’t that dire. I know you don’t need my advice or didn’t ask for it, but I would say that the least amount of changes of school and class would be best for Isobel if we were in that situation. Of course being happy and connected to the class is a big priority too. So staying put in a bad situation is not ok of course. Hang in there. You just survived 2 weeks (?) on your own. No wonder you feel like giving up your dissertation – you probably haven’t touched it in two weeks. Always fun when the work drama involved other ppl!

  2. St. Elsewhere Says:

    Happy Birthday!

    Do not do not do not give up on your dissertation.

    Well, I am happy that you are on the mend vis-a-vis the school issue. It’s a relief that she feels it less acutely than you do.

  3. Esperanza Says:

    ¡Felicidades! Espero que tengas buen día!

    Please don’t abandon your dissertation. YOU CAN DO IT! You really can. Maybe take a break for a bit, and returned renewed in a month or so…

    I’m so glad the school situation was not as upsetting as originally feared. I look forward to hearing more about the new school when Illyria starts attending.

  4. Rachel Says:

    I’m so glad it wasn’t the situation you imagined, what a relief.

    Don’t give up on the dissertation! My dad almost gave up on his, I remember it clearly, he pushed through and got it done. He’s never regretted it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

