and happy, too

To follow up on that heavy post, we also had a moment of celebration in the household last night and again this morning as Oz used the potty for me, twice! I sent him to school in underpants… his choice… which is the major breakthrough. Last Friday, the aide asked me to send along underpants and extra changes of clothes because she said he seemed very interested in using the potty like the other boys in his group, so she wanted to start him on the potty. So I did, and Monday through Wednesday the aide and our afternoon babysitter worked with him so well that Wednesday, he was dry all day, AND did #2 in the potty! I was too wrung out to follow through very well in the evenings, but I was home with them yesterday afternoon so kept pushing it gently and we had success 🙂 I’m very excited. I would not have started him yet if it hadn’t been for the support of his other caregivers. I felt like he was ready, in terms of maturity, I just didn’t have it in me to enact the discipline of it (in the sense of structure and boundaries and consistency, not in the sense of punishment). But now I feel like he’s taking ownership of the process, holding it even when he has a diaper on. This will be a nice surprise for Dada when gets back Sunday night 🙂

3 Responses to “and happy, too”

  1. St. Elsewhere Says:

    Good progress on the potty training front. Way to go, Oz!

  2. Rachel Says:

    That is exciting!

  3. Potty Says:

    I loved as much as you will receive carried out
    right here. The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following.
    unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the same
    nearly a lot often inside case you shield this hike.

Leave a comment